Finding Sarah, Finds Others…

Lemme first start with a virtual pat on the back to Oprah‘s network, OWN for doing what she intended to bring forth… good TV.  I never had my doubts with Oprah’s Midas touch, so to find her version of reality TV, turned DocuSeries is just another affirmation leading to the Universal Awakening coming this December.

I watched my pre-recorded Finding Sarah: From Royalty to Reality last night and all I could voice over and over, was “Poor, poor Sarah.”  My second thought is “Wow, think of all the people that will relate to her.”

Raw, vulnerable footage displays a picturesque Princess brought down to her worst nightmare… the enemy of self.  Although it boggles me as to how deeply rooted her DNA exposes itself as self-hatred, it frustrates me more that millions will be able to resonate with her and her struggles. Oh yea, I’m frustrated, and if you read the end, my rage carries through…

Where did Sarah say it all stemmed from?  Her adolescence.  12 to be exact.  The age her Mother left her… the age a scar was tattooed on her heart, the year she stuffed all sadness, anxiety, lack of trust and childhood deep within her cells, never to be heard of again until now.

It amazes me how many people will go through life lacking in self-worth only to unconsciously think it’s okay to pass down to their daughters.  What bothers me if even though I love what Sarah Ferguson is all about as she details her every step in self-discovery, I can’t help but want to reach across the TV screen, grab both her shoulders and shake her until she listens to me. Yes me!  I’m no professional counselor (although I’ve been known to help put pieces back together on the occasional broken hearted), but I am an expert when it comes to girls and their self-worth.

Sarah may think that her girls have slid by on her damaged DNA, but I can tell you it’s unlikely they will.  It is undeniable a Mother as broken as Sarah can raise two perfectly healthy, confident young ladies without her toxic leakage spilling over and onto her girls.  I hope in future episodes, Dr. Phil will stop Sarah in her tracks when she dicusses her natural tendencies to belittle herself in front of her daughters and tell her that no matter how confident she thinks her girls are NOW, it is crucial she change her language now, even if she doesn’t believe it… yet.

So if I may re-iterate the thoughts that have been percolating up to near explosiveness…

Moms – Keep. Your.  Mouths.  Shut! I mean c’mon!

I don’t care how confident you think little Jenny is when she’s only 10 years old, has a body of ladder, perfect skin and everything in her life is peachy as she looks forward to playing with dolls.

It doesn’t matter if you are putting yourself down and not her.

What matters is the person she looks up to, the mirror image of her someday is belittling themselves in front of her.  And one day, 10 year old Jenny is going to grow up, become Jen, with a curvy body, breakouts, braces, hormones, and suddenly Jen’s  image will morph its way into the adult face of her mother looking back at her in the mirror.  She’ll have adult issues and burdens, she’ll see the same things her mother saw.

She will have a bad day and label herself the same way her mother did and because the label has been stamped with her Mother’s inheritance, it will ring all the more true to her, that she is what her mother is.  Worthless.

Moms.  Keep quiet.  Keep your silly negative thoughts about you, about anyone to yourself. Keep our girls minds innocent, because Lord knows they will have time to fill it with their own chatter. Why add to their heat.

Sarah, I will continue to watch and cheer you on through your journey. If anything you will be a role model to the millions who resonate with you.

2 thoughts on “Finding Sarah, Finds Others…

  1. Wow…this was a wake up call for me!!! I’m always complaining about something not being perfect….my hair, my skin or the fact that my body never is good enough…I’m always on a diet!!!

    Today, I’m changing this….and waking up strong and happy. I’m going to keep my insecurities to myself!!! Going to embrace what I see in the mirror and teach my daughter to do the same.

  2. What a great reminder….the silly little things I may mutter about myself seem so harmless, but you are absolutely right…they are potentially monumental. Thank you, thank you, thank you for bringing this to light. With all of the media and social pressures our daughters face, we need to be their foundation and example of a strong, proud woman. Thanks!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

