Writer of the Future…

This post is a poem written by my 11year old daughter.  We would never had known this poem existed if it wasn’t for our recent parent teacher conference, where the teacher so kindly pulled out a sheet of paper typed up in the shape of a triangle.  Each student was given a topic in which to transform into poem… her topic, a Volcano.  My widening eyes led thought of what a task this would be for a mere 5th grader, but now after reading it, I think she held her own quite fine.  This is what it read…

THE ERUPTING VOLCANO ATTACK!

By:  Nicole Impal

HOT STEAM

SOARING IN THE

MISTY AIR, ASHES FLYING,

BABIES CRYING IN DESPAIR. SMOKE

RISE, SMOKE RISE, NOTHING LEFT TO SEE,

I WONDER WHAT WILL HAPPEN TO ME.  COUGH,

COUGH, SNIFF, SNIFF, MY SCRATCHING THROAT TRIES

TO GET THE BETTER OF ME. I TRY, I TRY TO KEEP GOING, BUT

NOT ONE BIT OF BLUE IS SHOWING.  CAN’T BREATH, CAN’T BREATH,

RUNNING OUT OF BREATH, I WONDER IF I’LL COME TO AN UNHAPPY DEATH.

THIS CAN’T HAPPEN, THIS CAN’T HAPPEN I SAY TO MYSELF.  I THINK BACK HOME,

I JUST WANT TO GO ON MY FOAM BED, SLEEP TIGHT, SLEEP TIGHT.  IT’S ALL

OVER.  SMOKE DONE, SCRATCHY THROAT DONE, MY FOAM BED… I’M IN.

Way to go Nicole, I’m so proud of you!  Maybe Mommy should come up with a poem of how proud I am of both my girls! ♥

One thought on “Writer of the Future…

Leave a Reply

